A pub owner has responded to a customer who said it was ‘not good enough’ after he claimed he waited over 15 minutes for drinks to be served. The restaurant said he complained and was told by a member of staff at the Worcestershire pub ‘rudely that we were fifth’.
They added that they left The Queens Head, in Wolverley, Kidderminster, last summer and went elsewhere. The pub is a popular place to visit in the city – and regularly receives positive customer reviews on Tripadvisor.
Their last review described it as “excellent”. But this restaurant, identified as Sue on Tripadvisor, who visited last year, gave it a one-star rating on the travel website.
Read more: The clever return of the pub owner to the restaurant who claimed he was served ‘the worst meat ever’
Sue’s full review said: “We were shown to a table. No menu offered so after 10 mins we asked for one. Wrong selection. We waited another 15 mins for our drinks still not to arrive.
“I complained to the staff only to be rudely told that we were fifth in line and MOST people expect to wait longer when busy. Now it was busy and it seemed to be only two ladies serving.
“We walked out and went next door to Gills Cafe where we were greeted by the friendly face of a red haired lady. She found us a table. Sorry Queens head not good enough.”
But the pub’s anonymous owner responded to the negative review – thanking them for their ‘most inaccurate account of your visit’. They also said that customers arrived 30 minutes late for their reservation – but were still shown to their table promptly.
The owner also said that it was explained to customers that wait times could be slightly longer due to the absence of staff. Their response said: “Thank you for your most inaccurate account of your visit.
“The lady who arrived almost 30 minutes late for the table she had reserved at a busy time but, you were greeted by myself with a smile and shown to your table. I took your order of drinks and said I’ll bring you a menu, I also explained that we were a broken down member of staff and the wait time might be a bit longer….however….
“You didn’t wait 10… or 15 minutes!” You waited three minutes, your drinks were done.
“May I ask, if you were standing at the bar behind five other people, wouldn’t it occur to you that you had to WAIT YOUR TURN like everyone else! Your comment of ‘Is it hard to pour drinks ?” much easier when you have customers who understand the limitations that table service has imposed on our industry and people have to wait their turn as if you were in a bar.
“We have a fantastic selection on the menu, but not the item you said you wanted, which was a salad, you might have asked about our menu when you called and booked, or looked on Facebook? But instead you came to the bar, no mask, waving the menu as we served shouting “that’s it!” at us!
“We didn’t do anything to deserve YOU talking to us so rudely just because YOU didn’t like the menu. Thank you so much, we hope you enjoy summer somewhere else.”
The Queens Head, based in Wolverley, near Kidderminster, regularly receives positive reviews on Tripadvisor. In January, Marion said: “Thank you thank you, I can’t say enough good things about the staff for providing a wonderful service at my mother’s wake.
“They were kind, courteous and very efficient on a very difficult day for us. The food provided was excellent, the hot and cold buffet was varied and full of everything. Thank you very much.”
Another reviewer said: “I recently visited The Queens Head on a very busy evening. We were greeted with smiles and friendly conversation from all the staff.
“We had reservations to eat. I have a food intolerance and had sent a message in advance. The chef took the time to respond personally and offered to adapt any dish on the menu. Something I didn’t expect.We had a great meal.There was even homemade bread.
“I have never been to such a welcoming pub with staff who really do their best to make your visit enjoyable. Thank you to all at Queens Head for a lovely evening.”
Madison said: “We stopped here on our way home from Bath. Cute and fairly busy pub.
“I ordered a sandwich with chips and salad – it was huge! I wasn’t expecting such a large portion – bargain £8.95!
“Also a pool table and air hockey for the kids if you have any and are thinking of calling. If it wasn’t so far from you we’d be back.”
And Sue added: “This lovely pub is in a most beautiful location. During the closures the pub has taken advantage of the opportunity to make changes to the interior and more importantly the beer garden to the back.
“We have been regulars here for many years and have seen the transformation take place with skill and taste, hope the Covid situation improves so this venue can be enjoyed by many more.”
Read more: “It was extremely difficult for us to serve your table” – exasperated response from complaining diner restaurant
For the latest events and attractions, food and drink, and things to do in the Midlands, visit our What’s On homepage. If you are on Facebook you can find our What’s On Black Country page here.
Stay up to date with the latest outings, nights out, shopping and more with our daily email updates.